An official website of the United States government

Revised Visa Reciprocity Schedule for Norway
February 28, 2022

Effective December 30, 2019, the reciprocity schedule for Norway will be revised for the nonimmigrant visa categories listed below.  Visa categories not listed remain unchanged.

U.S. law requires U.S. visa fees and validities to be based, insofar as practicable, on the treatment afforded to U.S. citizens.  As per Executive Order 13780 of March 2017, the Department of State was required to undertake a worldwide review of nonimmigrant visa reciprocity agreements and arrangements.  During that review, the Department of State noted discrepancies between Norway’s visa regime and that of the United States.  The United States was therefore required by law to reduce validity and increase fees of some categories to match Norway’s practices.

These changes in visa fees and validities afforded Norwegian citizens were further adjusted to take into account differences in the respective visa systems.


Revised Visa Reciprocity Schedule for Norway

ClassReciprocity FeeValidity
E1 – Treaty Trader$40036 Months (60 Months)
E2 – Treaty Investor$40036 Months (60 Months)
F1 – Student$016 Months
F1 – Student$43460 Months
F2 – Dependent of F1 visa holder$08 Months
F2 – Dependent of F1 visa holder$101860 Months
H1B – Specialty occupations in fields requiring highly specialized knowledge$41560 Months
H4 – Dependent of H visa holder$98860 Months
I – Journalist and Media$44536 Months (60 Months)
L1 – Intra-company transferee$132360 Months
L2 – Dependent of L1 visa holder$142560 Months
R1 – Religious worker$56660 Months
R2 – Dependent of R1 visa holder$106160 Months


The reciprocity fee is charged in addition to the nonimmigrant visa application fee (MRV fee) and can be paid at the time of your appointment if the application is approved.  Norwegian citizens whose nonimmigrant visa application is denied will not be charged a reciprocity fee.

For more information, please see the Bureau of Consular Affairs website: travel.state.gov