An official website of the United States government

Press Release: Travel Restrictions to the United States to Mitigate Risks Posed by COVID-19
March 12, 2020


Oslo March 12, 2020 — On March 11, President Donald J. Trump issued a Proclamation to mitigate risks posed to the United States by the COVID-19 situation worldwide.

The Proclamation sets certain temporary restrictions and limitations on entry into the United States for persons who have been in the Schengen Area during the 14-day period preceding their entry or attempted entry into the United States, which includes Norway. These restrictions go into effect on March 13 at 11:59 p.m. eastern daylight time (March 14, 4:49am CET for Norway).

These travel restrictions do not apply to American citizens, legal permanent residents, and several categories of aliens (i.e. any person who is not a citizen or national of the United States) listed in Section 2 of the March 11 Proclamation.

Several visa categories are exempted from the travel restrictions. Norwegian holders of these visa categories will still be able to travel to the United States, including those travelling for the purposes of certain types of business, diplomatic relations, and NATO cooperation. The U.S. Embassy advises that Norwegian citizens considering travel to the United States consult the full list of exemptions in Section 2 of the Presidential Proclamation of March 11.

Norwegian citizens who have visa-related questions should visit the U.S. Embassy website.

American citizens currently in Norway or planning travel to Norway should note that the U.S. Centers for Disease Control (CDC) have issued a Level 3 travel advisory advising U.S. citizens to reconsider travel to most of Europe due to widespread sustained transmission. For more information, please see the updated CDC travel notice.